/
5 minute read
November 16, 2022

Tutorial: Managing Users in Real-Time Decisioning

This tutorial leads you through the basics of adding users and managing their permissions for Real-Time Decisioning. For more information on how to use the Real-Time Decisioning dashboard, see Real-Time Decisioning. For more information on user permissions, see Real-Time Decisioning User Access.

Note
Real-Time Decisioning users are not the same as Marqeta Dashboard users. Access to the Real-Time Decisioning dashboard requires additional login credentials and an additional set of privileges that are unique to Real-Time Decisioning. To perform user and team management tasks, you must have the User Administrator privilege granted within Real-Time Decisioning.

Access the Real-Time Decisioning dashboard

User management is performed in the Settings area of the Marqeta Real-Time Decisioning dashboard. To access the dashboard:

  • Log in to Marqeta Dashboard and select RiskControl > Real-Time Decisioning from the left navigation pane.
    The Welcome screen appears with your profile, including your permissions.

    Welcome

    Is this helpful?

    Yes
    No
  • User management tasks are performed in the Settings area. From the main menu, select Settings. From here you can access users or teams.

Manage users

To view a list of current users:

  • Select Users in the left navigation bar.

    Status

    Is this helpful?

    Yes
    No

    A list of Real-Time Decisioning users and their information is displayed. From here you can create new users and edit user information, assign user privileges, and assign users to teams.

Create a user

When you create users you will also assign them privileges based on their roles—that is, will the user create rules, review and approve rules and push them to production, or manage user accounts.

  • The roles required to create rules are Analyst and Analytic Specialist. Users who will review, approve, and push rules into production need to Supervisor role.

  • For view only access to rules, assign the user the Analytic Specialist role.

  • The User Administrator role allows a user to manage users and teams.

  • The Superuser role grants all of the roles. This might be assigned to an IT administrator, or to a user who would handle rule updates in the case of a fraud attack where rules may need to be bypass the typical review process and instead be updated instantly.

To create a user:

  • From Settings > Teams, select Create User.

  • Enter the user’s information. For this tutorial, enter mquser123 as the username, MQ User 123 for the display name, and Mquserpw123 for the password.

  • Scroll down and select the Analytic Specialist role for this user. When you have created teams, you can assign the user to one or more teams.

    Create user

    Is this helpful?

    Yes
    No
  • Select Create.

Manage teams

Teams help you organize the ongoing workflows of designing and approving rules, and the day-to-day process of managing the transactions that are processed by Real-Time Decisioning.

When you have defined these roles, typically…​ you can assign users to those teams.

Teams are useful in that you can send communications to all team members by directing them to the team.

To view teams:

  • Select Settings from the main menu.

  • Select Teams from the left navigation pane. A list of teams is displayed with the number of team members.

Create a team

To create a team:

  • Select Settings > Teams.

  • In the upper left, select Create Team.

  • Enter a name for the team. In this case, enter Reviewers to create a team that will review and approve new rules. Note that each time user must still need to be granted the appropriate permissions in the User area.

  • Select the users to include in the team.

    Create team

    Is this helpful?

    Yes
    No
  • Select Create.

Delete a team

Before you can delete a team, you must remove all of its members. To delete the team that you just created:

  • Select Settings > Teams to display the list of teams.

  • Select Edit on the right of the Reviewers row.

  • Deselect the users that you added to the team when you created it.

  • Select Update at the top right.

  • In the list of teams, select Delete at the right of the right of the Reviewers row.

  • Select Confirm Delete.

Join our developer newsletter