Marqeta’s CEO wins ‘Fintech CEO of the Year’ at the 2020 Fintech Breakthrough Awards

We’re proud to announce that our founder & CEO, Jason Gardner, was selected as the winner of the “Fintech CEO of the Year” award in the 2020 Fintech Breakthrough Awards program, an independent market intelligence organization that recognizes top companies, technologies, and products in the global fintech market.

As the founder & CEO of Marqeta, Jason built Marqeta from the ground up as the industry’s first modern card issuing and open API platform. Although many viewed traditional payment cards as a commodity, Jason believed that flexible, modern cards issued and processed on up-to-date infrastructure would power a new wave of innovation. Marqeta’s platform is used by some of the fastest-growing brands in the world including Square, Instacart, DoorDash, and Affirm.

“Throughout Marqeta’s incredible journey of growth, Jason has built a stellar reputation as a curious and empathetic leader, creating a positive workplace culture built around a deep respect for each other and their shared mission,” said James Johnson, managing director, Fintech Breakthrough. “As CEO of Marqeta, Jason has executed on a vision that was ahead of its time, making a foundational bet that has put his company squarely ahead of the market. We are extremely proud to name Jason the winner of our “Best Fintech CEO” award winner.”

This award is a testament to Marqeta’s accomplishments over the last year. We delivered several new product innovations that continued to solidify our position as the leader in modern card issuing, quadrupled our valuation, continued to expand globally, and issued our 140 millionth card. With our first core value being to Connect the Customer and exceed their expectations every day, we worked to deliver upon exceptional experiences and this award is a reflection of that work.

Jason accepts this award on behalf of the Marqeta team and our customers: “I want to thank our people, I want to thank our customers, and I want to thank our families for this amazing award. Thank you so much.”